Weekend Update

Well I know you’re all dying to know and to be honest, I’m dying to tell you. It was a pretty decent weekend after all is said and done, although it’s late on Sunday night right now and I’m starting to cut into my sleepy time just by being here. And I just remembered I still have to iron my work clothes…hang on.

(hum the Final Jeopardy Round Song quietly to yourself now, please)

OK, cool. All done, thanks. Now where were we? Oh yes, Friday night – let the weekend begin. By the time I had left work on Friday night I had remembered something that was totally going to mess with my Full Day Saturday visit plans – a big ugly dentist appointment, smack dab in the middle of the day at 12:30PM. Great. It would be at least an hour long and I had to be home by 3:30 to catch the game with my buddy, so that wasn’t going to leave enough time for a visit after. At best, I get a morning squeeze in, as long as I could get up early enough. So Friday night I went to the Robyn show (and she totally kicked ass) and tried to have as much fun as a guy can have with a sick wife on the couch and a sick daughter in stall 4. She put on a great show and I got some close up action in the front of the crowd, as well as some Dancing On My Own action in the less-crowded back. I tried to get a decent pic while I was there but I have a pretty dumb phone. This one was probably the best shot I took. After the show – I must really be getting old – I got home by 11 and got to bed at a decent hour. There was a small window in the morning to go see Princess ChubChub and at that point, it was all I could think about.

I woke up like a kid on Christmas. Well, not really. Like an adult on Christmas, though. I was excited! My alarm went off and I didn’t care, woke up smiling. It was Saturday morning and I wasn’t sleeping in – didn’t want to! I had to get up if I wanted to spend any time at the hospital today. And so I did, and it was awesome. It wasn’t a particularly exciting visit (technically speaking) other than how big and chubby she’s starting to get, especially around the wrists and ankles. Big head, big hands, big feet. Probably still smaller than most babies’ extremities but on Nyana, they’re huge. She was mostly asleep for it so I just sat and brushed her hair with her new brush and told her that she was gorgeous and we chatted about what happened over the past week.

I told her about our sniffling and sneezing, and about life on the couch. She told me that while we were gone, she went ahead and had the folks there crank up her O2 levels to where they were two weeks ago, completely negating all the progress we thought we’d been making. I told her that wasn’t the agreement we had made earlier and that it was going to need to be rectified. She told me she’d sleep on it. Our time was up so we slapped a sloppy high five and I headed out to be tortured in the mouth for a little while.

The Little Bean Burrito

Skip ahead to Sunday. Skip past the Leafs getting shutout by the Habs Saturday afternoon. Skip past the too many beers and the going to bed early that night. Skip past Karen’s fairly uneventful visit on Saturday night – she can tell you about it if she wants. Skip right ahead to Sunday where for the first time in a long while, both of us have an open day with no plan other than to go hang out with Babygirl. We were like two adults on Christmas, it was very exciting. We packed a whole closetful of new outfits for her; now that she’s getting bigger she can fit more of what we have here already. It was a sunny and chilly winter morning and we got some decent bus luck. For the first time in a long time, we were both excited to be on that #17 and full of anticipation to see our daughter and were both in a great mood. Karen reminded me again of how crazy I am about her. She makes this look so easy sometimes.

The visit this afternoon was great. I got to take her out for dinner again, which is always nice. It’s been over a week since we could do this and since it had been awhile, there was a bit of a rocky start. Before long though, she totally remembered what she had to do and was happily pooping in my hands and making funny stinky sounds. After an hour or so, we put her back and we changed her, gave her a new outfit, and lulled her back to sleep so we could go get some food. A couple hours later we were back on the night shift, where we returned to find a fairly awake and alert little girl who seemed pretty happy to get some QT with her parents. Sats were high, and the O2 was weaned down to the low 60s by the end of our visit. She’s up around 2500g now, that’s about five and a half pounds. And she’s all over the soother now, too. We had a good chat with her nurse tonight, who had some pretty good insight to share with us, and we left happy. We like to think that Nyana was pretty happy too.

Nyana gets a freshie

Nyana gets a freshie.

I love Daddy

Nyana shows off her awesomeness in her favourite I LOVE DADDY onesie.

Nyana gets her hair brushed.

A little bedtime brush.

About Donners

Thirtysomething father to The Royal Princess of The Sunshine Brigade, a 27 week preemie who survived 222 days in the NICU. The Queen and I are still crazy in love, and life in Vancouver's West End is getting back to a whole new normal that we've always been waiting for but never knew we would get quite like this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Olivia ♡ says:

    🙂 <– That's all.

    – Olivia

  2. Tasha says:

    Ditto what Olivia wrote! 🙂

  3. Tamara says:

    D’AWW! What a sweet heart. She looks like she’d enjoying her bed time brushing.

Leave a Reply

