G-Tube Eve (Big Daddy Remix)

I was talking to a friend this week who was telling me about her dramatic weekend. She and her boyfriend had been planning a big shopping weekend down to the States with another couple when the other couple got into a big, Friday night, yelling-on-the-street-outside-the-club argument and the whole weekend got derailed. Instead of shopping all weekend, they just ended up at the spa.

Man, I’d kill for that kind of drama again. Not that I’ve ever been much of a spa guy, but still it reminded me of a time when things were much simpler, when we didn’t know all of the medical terminology that we do now. Back when making a baby seemed so easy. Tonight I’m writing this cribside on the eve of her surgery – again. She’s been a bit fussy and uncomfortable, but for right now she’s asleep, hopefully dreaming of the long and winding cavalcade of celebration that is the Sunshine Brigade.

I sat here two nights ago on Monday, thinking the same things. It’s the last night before the surgery, the last night before we take the first steps of the next pathway through Nyanaland. Right now she has a clean, smooth chubby belly, tomorrow there will be a piece of plastic there. It will likely be there for the next year and in all honesty, tonight could be the last night I see her tummy without a little dime-sized scar there. I know it’s not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but I get sentimental. It’s a big night…again.

What if I pull it out? This is really just a plastic stopper with a tube sticking out, and it could easily get caught on something when I go to lift her up or something – I’m klutzy, I do things like that. I pulled her NG tube out at least twice by total accident and one that was possibly on purpose but you didn’t hear that from me. I’m told that if it does “pop out” (because I know you’re all wondering…) we just “pop it back in”. Seriously, that’s what I got from Karen when I asked her. She said most people (daycare, babysitters, even family) might have a hard time with the concept but we would get it and if it happened, we could just “pop it back in”. Weird thing was that I totally got it and understood what she meant. Going back to the beginning of this post, I remember a time when I would have been far, far away from even just this conversation. My, how far you can come when you just blink and let 6 months slip by.

—–

It’s later now, and I’m at home. Little Princess Fussbucket woke up with her evening tummyache right when I was leaving, which not only happened last G-Tube Eve, but all last week as well. It’s kind of terrible timing, because it hits right as it’s time to go catch the bus and it’s always terrible to leave her on a bad note. I always feel like such a let-down, taking off right when she gets cranky, but what can you do? It just reinforces the need to get her home so we can stop having to leave her somewhere else every night. I can’t wait.

So the end of our NICU road starts tomorrow, probably. Most likely, I’m sure. I doubt they would bump us again. Probably not. I hope. The surgery is at 9:30 AM and will be over by the time most of you read this. We’ll keep you posted, and thanks again. Thanks for the thoughts, the prayers, the energy, the laughs, the love, the tears, and the chuckly smiles. It’s you guys who keep us real, and we’re very grateful. Here’s a little sunshine to say thanks.

Cows are our friends.

We bought this outfit when Karen was still pregnant, on one of the last weekends before Karen's hospitalization. She had wanted to get a few outfits and things and it was our first trip out shopping for Banana.

Nyana enjoys some funny faces.

She's either going to love this or hate this when she grows up. There is no middle ground.

Dad gets crafty with Flutterbug.

Chillin' with Mum.

Nyana enjoys a gift from her friend Lucy. It's a plushie duckie with a soother sewn in and it seems to be a hit!

About Donners

Thirtysomething father to The Royal Princess of The Sunshine Brigade, a 27 week preemie who survived 222 days in the NICU. The Queen and I are still crazy in love, and life in Vancouver's West End is getting back to a whole new normal that we've always been waiting for but never knew we would get quite like this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to G-Tube Eve (Big Daddy Remix)

  1. Stacey Feehan says:

    Continued prayers for a uneventful surgery. Love all the sunshine at the end of the post! We love cows here in the midwest too. 🙂

  2. Kaili says:

    Beautiful pictures~ best of luck this morning!!

  3. Chloe, Naomi & Mindy says:

    We had very good dreams for you last night! Best of luck today. We can’t wait to hear how wonderful Nyana does with her surgery:)

  4. Anne Brackett says:

    Hi! Adorable pictures.Nyana’s name is still on the Prayer list as it was never taken off. Hope all goes well today. I will be thinking of her all day. Let me know how everything went. Love and hugs to all. Mom

  5. Linda says:

    Alright Nyana, this is your big day…..keep strong!!! Just remember that Grannie and about a thousand other people are rooting for you, sending positive thoughts and warm hugs. Ohh, do you know how adorable you look in your cow outfit or snuggled up in Daddy’s arms….so very, very sweet!!!
    Much love to you Ladybug,
    Grannie

  6. T says:

    Nyana Kentucky is praying for you and your mum & dad!

  7. Tasha says:

    Thinking of you all today.

    She really does get more precious as time goes on!

  8. LeeAnne says:

    Thinking of you all today. Also thinking, Nyana has two of the greatest parents on the planet! You guys are totally awesome!

  9. tara delisle says:

    Best wishes this morning. Nyana will pull trough like a champ as in everything she does.

  10. Mary Ann and Mya says:

    there is less than an hour until the scheduled surgery. I’m praying everything goes as planned and that Nyana will recover quickly with little discomfort. Hugs from Mya and the Winter Family 🙂

    GO NYANA GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Chantal & Addison says:

    Daddy is so crafty with that Flutterbug! Good luck sweetie! We are cheering you on to make a full and fast recovery!

  12. Juju says:

    Sending the best of thoughts for a smooth morning and fast recovery.

  13. Shannon & Andre says:

    Hoping moo-raculous ending to this story. Best of luck today!

  14. Diana says:

    I didn’t know what to say on Tuesday and I fell asleep before I could comment last night (nothing like the Provincial Offences Act to put you to sleep). Frankly I still am not sure what to say, but I hope that at this point in the day you guys are all together and she’s doing well with the new bionic weapon attachment.

  15. Lynn Duncan says:

    Love all the pictures!!

    Been thinking of you all morning but just now got online. Hope she is done with her surgery by now.

    And Daddy.. you also have to keep the Princess from tugging on that tube! I know it can be done and I know you and Karen are so creative you’ll work that out. Just look at the use of your hat for much entertainment..

  16. Charlene says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I’m thinking of all of you today. Sending smiles and hugs your way.

  17. Aimiee says:

    you are one step closer to long walks in your stroller and naps in your own crib!!! We look forward to all the pictures!

  18. Stacey and Lucy says:

    Sending lots of love and hugs… A little drool too!! XoxoxoX

  19. Duncan & Dorothy Gillies says:

    Hi Don, Karen and Nyana. It is Thursday evening, and by now, hopefully all has gone well and the surgery has been accomplished. Loved the photos of Nyana and her Mom & Dad. Best wishes to all of you.\We are heading back tomorrow morning for cold Ontario from Florida, but we will drive slowly, if it looks like snow. Best wishes to all of you. Duncan & Dorothy

  20. robyn says:

    missy moooo! love love LOVE all the pictures. the cow outfit makes me look forward to her halloween costume 2011! princess moo? princess banana? cant wait 🙂 and yay that the soother duck works, very cool. thinking of you all ❤

Leave a Reply

