The Cutting Room Floor

We have a lot of photos of Nyana. We love to share them and we love to hear people oooh and ahhhhh over them. But they’re not always good photos. With the wonders of technology and digital cameras, we don’t need to worry about perfectly framing the shot first, or pay attention to the light. We can just let ourselves get snap happy and let the chips fall where they may. Here’s a handful of Nyana shots that found the cutting room floor.

Up close and personal.

Up close and personal with Nyana.

Monster foot.

An overexposed, giant foot. The silly expression is pretty great, too.

Random playdate shot.

At our NICU reunion. Half a person, a headless mum, two faceless babes sprawled out... all out of focus.

Pink bathtub.

A salmon coloured bathtub ruined the lighting in this shot.

Taking a break.

Nyana looks like she's taking a break from an exhausting photo shoot.

Hanging out.

Oh, you know. Just hanging out with shadows on my face.

Self portrait.

Why ten-month old babies should never take self-portrait photos.

Blurry cheek kisses.

Nyana gets some blurry kisses from Mum.

Cousin Ang.

Auntie-Cousin Ang asked us not to post photos of her. I say it's OK because you can't see her anyways.

Not happy.

Sometimes a photo just needs an unhappy baby to be considered a bad photo.

Auntie-Cousin Kim

Auntie-Cousin Kim also doesn't want her photo taken or posted. Again, I figure this is safe.

Circle of babes.

Yeah... should've known this wouldn't go well.

When bad is good.

And sometimes, bad photos are still great photos.

About Mrs. B

Wife, mother, marketer--not always in that order. Lover of fine food, good company, and exceptional grammar. Mother of one former micro-preemie and one full-term monster baby. Building childhood memories in Vancouver's suburbs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Cutting Room Floor

  1. Duncan & Dorothy Gillies says:

    Dear Nyana, Don & Karen
    Gee, I dont see anything wrong with these photos, I feel like all of mine are like that – even the goodones. I guess we need more practice.\
    Love the various expressions – makes her ‘normal’ – no one has a totally smiley faced baby – at least not anyone we know.
    Keep those photos coming – we love them all.
    Love – Dorothy & Duncan

  2. RoxiP says:

    Does it make me twisted that in the shot in the bathtub I also thought “and she looks like she only has one hand?” Sometimes I scare myself…and sometimes a bad photo of a cute baby is still all about the cute baby. She has so much character and expression in her face and her features are so well defined…from that definite chin and eyebrows to those chubby little cheeks…could she get any cuter?

  3. Heather says:

    I think they are all pretty darn cute…can Nyana even take a bad photo? I think not!

  4. Tasha says:

    Now I have Nitty Gritty Dirt Band in my head. But I don’t consider that a bad thing so thank you!

  5. Lee says:

    They are all perfectly imperfect and I thank you so much for once again putting a silly grin on my face. I especially love the hanging out at the beach one.

    Lee

  6. Anne Brackett says:

    Don, Karen and Nyana

    I love all the different expressions. I think they are all cute and love everyone of them. I still sometimes miss and cut someones head off or part of it…..

    Love to all Mom

  7. Linda says:

    Whenever a baby is involved, particularly a grandbaby, there can be no bad pictures. Just more wonderful memories of a very special and so very sweet little girl.
    I really liked the silly, distorted face of a baby trying out for a self-portrait – even her tongue is cute!!
    Thanks for bringing more sunshine into my day!!
    Hugs and love to you.

  8. I’m glad we got to see these .. always a good day when you post, and pictures just add to it!!

  9. Max's Mum says:

    Great post!
    I like the NICU reunion shot – ‘A’ for effort on that one!

  10. Tasha2 says:

    I think the last one is awesome!!

Leave a Reply

