Cake Smash

Hi everyone! Mum and Dad are letting me stay up past my bedtime tonight to tell you all about my birthday party. My actual birthday isn’t until Tuesday, but we celebrated on Saturday to make sure as much of my family as possible could be here. What a great day! I’ll let Mum tell you all about it with her words in a day or two, but they said I could show you all of my favourite pictures from the day. They said people like “picture posts” on Monday mornings. Hope you enjoy!

When I woke up in the morning and I was wearing Batman pyjamas, I knew it was going to be a good day.

When I woke up in the morning and I was wearing Batman pyjamas, I knew it was going to be a good day.

When Daddy got me out of my bed and brought me into the living room, I saw tons of balloons and streamers and this awesome sign in the window.

When Daddy got me out of my bed and brought me into the living room, I saw tons of balloons and streamers and this awesome sign in the window.

I Am One. I am ready for this "birthday" business.

I Am One. I am ready for this "birthday" business.

Birthdays have presents. This present is from Grannie. It's full of clothes.

Birthdays have presents. This present is from Grannie. It's full of clothes.

Mum told me to always keep the gift receipt when getting clothes.

Mum told me to always keep the gift receipt when getting clothes.

Auntie Kim gave me this pretty carousel snow globe. Mum and Dad say it's a "nice thing" and they put it on a shelf in my room to keep it safe.

Auntie Kim gave me this pretty carousel snow globe. Mum and Dad say it's a "nice thing" and they put it on a shelf in my room to keep it safe.

It was the craziest thing! They just kept passing me presents to open. Here I am with another one for me! This one was a great wooden train set that I can stack and put together myself! Thanks Great-Gran and Great-Granddad!

It was the craziest thing! They just kept passing me presents to open. Here I am with another one for me! This one was a great wooden train set that I can stack and put together myself! Thanks Great-Gran and Great-Granddad!

The ribbons and the paper as as good as the present. This awesome ribbon came from Grannie.

The ribbons and the paper as as good as the present. This awesome ribbon came from Grannie.

The toys just keep on coming! This birthday thing is awesome!

The toys just keep on coming! This birthday thing is awesome!

Daddy bought me my first Leafs jersey. I can't wait for October when we can curl up on the couch and watch the games in matching outfits.

Daddy bought me my first Leafs jersey. I can't wait for October when we can curl up on the couch and watch the games in matching outfits.

Uncle Jack and Aunt Sandra gave me this awesome elephant. He jingles and crinkles and makes me smile. I think I shall call him Mr Blue.

Uncle Jack and Aunt Sandra gave me this awesome elephant. He jingles and crinkles and makes me smile. I think I shall call him Mr Blue.

Mum and I stop for a rest and stretch before the next phase of the party begins.

Mum and I stop for a rest and stretch before the next phase of the party begins.

My auntiecousin Angela took this picture of me chomping away on Mr Blue. He's a really cool toy!

My auntiecousin Angela took this picture of me chomping away on Mr Blue. He's a really cool toy!

This is the face I made when they sang Happy Birthday to me.

This is the face I made when they sang Happy Birthday to me.

Hm. A raspberry on top of a delightfully chocolate cake. I think I just might.

Hm. A raspberry on top of a delightfully chocolate cake. I think I just might.

Oh, yes. This cake thing might be alright.

Oh, yes. This cake thing might be alright.

I was trying to keep myself clean and not get messy, but Mum and Dad told me to go crazy. They wanted me to get cake all over my dress! Birthdays are awesome!

I was trying to keep myself clean and not get messy, but Mum and Dad told me to go crazy. They wanted me to get cake all over my dress! Birthdays are awesome!

I look pretty good covered in chocolate, if I do say so myself.

I look pretty good covered in chocolate, if I do say so myself.

Nobody told me it was going to be sticky, though.

Nobody told me it was going to be sticky, though.

Mmmmm I love cake!!

Mmmmm I love cake!!

As fun as it is to smash cakes, it's not always fun to be messy and sticky. I started to lose interest in the chocolate after about twenty minutes. My headband looked neat.

As fun as it is to smash cakes, it's not always fun to be messy and sticky. I started to lose interest in the chocolate after about twenty minutes. My headband looked neat.

I decided that it was a good idea to lie down in the cake. Seemed perfectly smart at the time.

I decided that it was a good idea to lie down in the cake. Seemed perfectly smart at the time.

Daddy helps me get me out of my icky dress after I was done destroying my cake. It sure was fun.

Daddy helps me get me out of my icky dress after I was done destroying my cake. It sure was fun.

Mum helps clean me up. She says chocolate tastes the best when licked off of baby skin.

Mum helps clean me up. She says chocolate tastes the best when licked off of baby skin.

I get that I'm cute and I know I needed to be cleaned up, but I don't understand why they always have a camera on me when I'm naked in the tub. I'll bet they're stockpiling embarrassing pictures of me for my wedding day.

I get that I'm cute and I know I needed to be cleaned up, but I don't understand why they always have a camera on me when I'm naked in the tub. I'll bet they're stockpiling embarrassing pictures of me for my wedding day.

All the grown-ups gave me a few minutes to myself while they cleaned up the mess and ate the parts of the cake I didn't destroy. I hung out and talked to Mr Blue. I like Mr Blue.

All the grown-ups gave me a few minutes to myself while they cleaned up the mess and ate the parts of the cake I didn't destroy. I hung out and talked to Mr Blue. I like Mr Blue.

After all the excitement, I was happy to just hang out in my exersaucer for a while and watch the action. As fun as they are, birthdays are exhausting.

After all the excitement, I was happy to just hang out in my exersaucer for a while and watch the action. As fun as they are, birthdays are exhausting.

This is one of my favourite pictures from the day. I love my mum and dad so much.

This is one of my favourite pictures from the day. I love my mum and dad so much.

As you can see, we had such a good time! If that’s birthdays, then I want every day to be my birthday! As Mum tucked me in to bed on Saturday night, she kissed me and rambled on about how far we’ve come in a year and how crazy it is to think that I’m a whole year old already. I don’t know what the fuss is all about but she said that first birthdays are the most special and that mine is extra special because this time last year, we had no idea if I’d ever see a first birthday. Mum says I’m going to get to have a whole bunch more birthdays. I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cake Smash

  1. Looks like you had the best birthday ever!

    But, just wait, now you’ll start looking forward to them!! That’s a good thing.

  2. Duncan & Dorothy Gillies says:

    Happy Birthday Nyana – oh, and Hi to Mom and Dad too.
    I heard from Grandma Anne that your cousin took 700 photos of you – that will take some time to look at for sure!!
    What a delightful day you must have had – but to get chocolate all over that pretty party dress – oh, well, it will wash – it is good to have fun getting dirty sometimes.
    I can imagine that your birthday is going to last for a couple more days – so have fun.
    And your Mom is right, it is a very special birthday for all your team to celebrate this wonderful milestone.
    Love Duncan & Dorothy

  3. Tina and Brielle says:

    I love this!! Great job Karen.. It looks like Nyana had a great 1st Birthday..

  4. RoxiP says:

    What a journey you have been on this year you have been on with that which you made…thank you so much for taking a far-flung world of strangers along for the trip and for sharing this joyous occasion with us. We are blessed to feel connected to the two of you and to your beautiful Nyana.

  5. Max's Mum says:

    Thanks for sharing all the great pictures, Nyana! You look great covered in cake!

  6. Tasha says:

    Probably the best pictures ever! Happy Birthday sweet girl!

  7. Juju says:

    Love the Happy Birthday song face!

    Nyana, have you noticed that you say awesome a lot? But, then you have a pretty awesome life.

    Happy Birthday a day early in case I don’t get back tomorrow, but if I do, I’ll wish you another Happy Birthday.

  8. Tina says:

    Karen, these photos are soooo cute! what a precious birthday girl. my favorites.. her laying in the cake, the happy birthday lips (libby do these too) and “the toys keep coming this happy birthday thing is awesome” beautiful! tina

  9. Kailey & Emmet says:

    What a wonderful picture birthday! And it looked like so much fun! Just think…they only get more and more fun each year!
    Happy 1st Birthday Nyana!!!
    xoxo

  10. Mary Ward says:

    Nyana, you always make me smile but especially while enjoying your birthday pictures with you. And I love your Batman pjs!

  11. Mary Ann says:

    aawww, Nyana you are adorable. Love the pictures!

  12. Jen As Herself says:

    So many beautiful shots. The cake set is priceless. Happy Birthday, Princess!

  13. Stacey & Lucy says:

    Just the BEST!! We love you!!

  14. Lee says:

    What a wonderful day you must have had Nyana, and mum and dad too. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful and happy day in pictures.

    Lee

  15. Amanda Cita says:

    I love the one of her lying down in cake. Happy birthday Ny!

  16. Sue says:

    Nyana is just absolutely precious!!! What great memory photos you have!! I can’t believe it’s been a year already either!

  17. Olivia ♡ says:

    Hahaha, omg these made me laugh. I love her Batman pjs!

    Happy Birthday (tomorrow), Nyana!!

    Love, Olivia, Caleb, and Noah. ❤

    P.S. Noah thinks you looked very pretty in your birthday dress and headband. Ooooo.

  18. Jackie says:

    Happy birthday, Nyana. Thank you for sharing your special day with all of us.

  19. Anne Brackett says:

    Happy Birthday Nyana…It would have been nice to be there to enjoy your day with you. Love all the different expressions. Nyana when you get older you will have lots of fun looking at all the pictures and will have many great memories. Love you sweetie Grandma

  20. Tasha2 says:

    Can’t decide which of the first two cake smash pics are the best – looks like fantastic fun! Happy Birthday NYANA!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Tasha2 says:

    PS. those batman pjs ROCK 🙂

  22. Pingback: Cake Smash (via Adventures Of The Sunshine Brigade) | ♡ Love, Life, & Noah – Prairie Baby Dreams ♡

  23. cailey says:

    She’s a cutie. You are so blessed.

  24. Pingback: Nyana’s 2nd Birthday | The Karen & Donners Show

Leave a Reply

