‘Twas The Night Before Christmastimes

‘Twas the night before Christmastimes, when all through the flat
Not a creature was stirring, not even a cat.
The stockings were hung on the CD shelf with care
Because we all know the best hook support is found there.

Nyana was nestled all snug in her crib,
while she danced with visions of food stuck to her bib.
And Mumsy with her book and I stalling for bed
Had just locked the front door and given Princess her meds.

When out in the alley there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from my couch to see what the heck was going on out there – there are people trying to sleep, dammit!
Away to the window I flew with my phone
To get a good pic of this, whatever was goin’ on.

The glow of the security lamps across the way
Gave off a sickening light that made you wish it was day.
When, what to my tired eyes should appear,
But a red and white mini Cooper, and it parked quite near.

With a little old driver, so lively and quick,
I knew in a moment it must be St. Nick.
He hopped out the back and looked into the trunk,
and seemed to be rooting through a fair bit of junk.

“If Dasher were here, he’d know where it would be.
Or Prancer or Vixen – I could use all three.
Heck, any of those four-legged friends would be fine.
Just something to keep me from losing my mind!”

He finally found what it was he had sought
And pulled it from the trunk full of junk he had fought.
Then a slip from his pocket appeared at his command
And he checked with it his bearings in the alley at hand.

He looked up with a glance and caught me right in my eye.
He smiled and he winked and with a wave to the sky
He vanished! He…fizzled, and left a fine dust of snow
Falling with a twinkling to the pavement below.

He had been right there, right in front of my face!
He’d seen me, he’d…known…me, every pride and disgrace!
And then he was gone? Just like that? Where’d he go?
He left behind just his little red car and that snow?

Then my name whispered from behind me, just my name, nothing more.
I turned around in the dark and spied Mum at Ny’s door.
She was grinning and pointing and hopping up and down.
I went over and peeked in to see what was abound.

And there he was. The Fat Man In Red.
I just couldn’t make the image fit into my head.
Yet there he was, standing in all of his glory,
Above Nyana’s crib as he read her a story.

The small book he was reading looked old and well read
And as he turned the pages, gold dust sprinkled to her head 
She stretched and she smiled and she snugged in a bit more
As he turned to us, who were stunned with our jaws on the floor.

He laughed right out loud at the sight of us there,
Doubling over and then stumbling into the chair.
He fell to the floor with a crash and a bang
And then nothing!
…with a puff of snow he was gone again.

We sprang to the window to look for the man’s car
But he’d already left and had gotten surprisingly far.
You could just barely hear him as he drove out of our sight,
“Happy Christmastimes to All, and to All a good night!”

About Donners

Thirtysomething father to The Royal Princess of The Sunshine Brigade, a 27 week preemie who survived 222 days in the NICU. The Queen and I are still crazy in love, and life in Vancouver's West End is getting back to a whole new normal that we've always been waiting for but never knew we would get quite like this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Twas The Night Before Christmastimes

  1. Linda says:

    Don, this version of “A Night Before Christmas” makes Clement Moore’s version very lame indeed. I much prefer your handle on this legendary poem and I applaud your wit and humour. Now, I and the rest of Nyana’s Army will be waiting with baited breath for your version of Peter Cottontail and Easter!
    Nothing but love and happiness for you, Karen and Nyana tomorrow. Wish I could be a fly on the wall to take in all of the excitement.

  2. Jennifer Stead says:

    That was awesome *L* I loved it! Bestest Of Christmastimes Don, Karen and Ny! May your morrow be wonderful and full of lovliness *smile*

  3. Tasha2 says:

    Merry Christmastimes you guys!

  4. Sue Curtice says:

    I was just wondering about all of you yesterday so it was a welcomed surprise to find a new posting! Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your super holiday!

  5. Anne Brackett says:

    Dear little one… very creative and well done..I am with you Linda to see what Peter Cotton Tail will bring. Enjoy your Christmas and I too would like to be a fly on the wall to see what is happening. It should be a great moment for Nyana..Love to all Mom

  6. Twiggy says:

    awwww that was so cute!!! Merry Happy Christmastimes!! HUGS

  7. Duncan & Dorothy Gillies says:

    Hi Nyana, Don & Karen – great to see a post on the web site (as I am not on Facebook). Grandma Anne tells me there are some great photos from Christmastimes morning – hope we can see some here.
    Don, you are quite a poet – best wishes to all of you on your Christmastimes celebration – hopefully not too much snow for you, so you can get out for a stroll.
    Love to all of you. Duncan & Dorothy

Leave a Reply

