I Like New Things

Hello Everyone? It’s Nyana. Is this thing working?

I’m not sure how much time I have; Mumma went to bed an hour ago but Daddy’s just sleeping on the couch in front of the swimming again (what’s with all the swimming lately?). I just wanted to send you all a quick hello because it’s been awhile, but now I see that it’s been over two months (!!!) since Mum or Dad have written so I see I have a much bigger job to do than just say hello. But I can say hello very well. I say it almost all the time to people. I like how it makes them smile and shake their hands at me. Hello. Hellllloooo. Hi. Hiiiii. No. Yessh.

So what’s new? Haha, LOTS. First of all, this place is awesome. Did they tell you we moved? I have my own room now! Or rather, they have their own room finally! Mine is pretty cool, I have a window and my toys all in there with my books and stuff. My door closes all the way if I want it, and Dad fixed the mirror so it hangs better and it’s pretty now! It has butterflies on it and everything! And the floor is furry here! There’s still some parts where it’s wood, but in my room the floor is furry, it’s so nice and soft to walk on and play on.  I love it.  And we have doors to go outside!! Two of them! I have a little splashy pool at one door and the other door has the tree with the leaves and all the cars. It’s amazing, I can go outside and look at the tree all I want. Did I mention I love it here? Did you know they make crayons for the bathtub?? Un. Believable.

So, I know you like all my fun details. You know me though, I’m no doctor. I don’t know what to tell you. I can tell you this – I haven’t had anything strapped to my face at all for over a month now. I’ve been breathing totally on my own, completely unassisted, 24 hrs a day, for six weeks as of last night. It’s great I can move around now when I sleep without crunching up my face or anything. And hey – why didn’t anyone ever tell me how wonderful it is to sleep on your face? Holy moley, give me a soft blanket and I’m good. So, yeah, things are going really well. I still go to see the doctors and weird scientists or whatever they are but no one has poked me in a while (they’re still creepy though). But everyone seems really happy when I show up so whatever I just get it over with and then Dad and I get to go play again so that’s cool. Did I mention Dad is around all the time now? He’s pretty silly sometimes but I like dancing with him and he’s a good jumper. I still don’t know how he does it though but he’s trying to teach me and if I can’t he just jumps me up anyway so that’s pretty fun. Hey, I like flowers and sticks, right? Have you seen my ball?

I. Like. Cats. Cats are pretty cool, we have two of them. One is Hollywoo and the other is Hollywoo. They have these really soft fuzzy tails, you see. Dogs, however, say “woof”.

I fell on my knee and Dad took a picture. Mum said it’s my first big ouch. Want to see?

Did you know that you can make just about any of your toys kiss any of your other toys? You can just pick them up and smush their faces together! Haha! KISS! I love it.

Just finished off a plate of Dad’s spaghetti.

So, OK. Back to business. I picked up a bit of what Dad and the doctor were talking about and let me tell you, I am totally on board. Finally, I’m going to get my backpack off! Hopefully before I have to go to school! I don’t ever want to wear a backpack ever again in my whole life! I mean, I get it – food and everything, but man. Backpacks are not very cool. What was I saying? Right, I get to eat more! Apparently my belly isn’t as big as it needs to be so I have to practise eating more so it can get big enough for me to fill up enough for a whole meal. So says the doctors, but they don’t get to see what I eat. At first Mum and Dad tried to pass off some food on me that didn’t look like what they were eating so I was like, “yeah right”. I took a stand. I let them know that if we’re going to be this great wonderful “fambly” like they keep talking about, I want us all to at least eat the same stuff. So now I get a full plate all on my own, with my own spork and everything – whatever they eat. I love mac ‘n cheese (of course!) but I really like when they have rice and noodles with stuff. Like butter chicken or pad thai or teriyaki or spaghetti. These guys eat spicy food sometimes! I love nachos, those are soo good. This one time they made this noodle dish that was so spicy my nose kept running but it was soo tasty. They tried to take it away and I lost my mind. No need to take a girl’s food off of her tray, what’s that all about? I was loving it. And I saw them going for their water, too, so what the heck, right? I can eat a whole plate all on my own mostly and now we’re even starting to do it more than once a day! Now we eat food in the morning as well, and sometimes in between, too! It’s great, I hope this keeps up cause they both can cook up some tasty food! And don’t even get me started on the cookies.

But you don’t even have to cook to eat delicious watermelon! However, you do need a knife, which I’m apparently not allowed ever. Which is fine, as long as the supply of watermelon keeps up. Mmm. Delicious watermelon.

Well I gotta go. I think Dad is waking up soon so I better get back in bed. I don’t even know what he would say if he caught me on his laptop, posting a blogpost in fluent English. I’ll try to make them come back and write more to you again themselves, I can be very persuasive these days. I’m going to leave you with my favourite picture of me and each of them. Here’s me and my Mum and here’s me and me Dad. Buh-bye. Bye. Bye. Byyyye. Bye. Buh-Bye.

Me and my Mum

Me and my Daddy

And then one last one of just me. Bye!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Like New Things

  1. Twiggy says:

    Wow, look at those big eyes! Nyana you are growing up and you don’t know how wonderful it is for those of us who have read your blog!! You have the bestest Mommy and Daddy!!!

  2. Stacey Feehan says:

    What a wonderful post from you, Nyana! Big things are happening in your life, for sure. It all makes me smile.

  3. Linda says:

    Very well written, Nyana….you are going to do your English teachers proud once you start school. I am so happy that you love your new home, complete with the furry floors!! And watermelon is MY favourite fruit as well…I love eating it with cottage cheese. Yumm. Thank you for sneaking off to write this post – I won’t tell Mum and Dad what you did if you promise to write us another one soon. Love you, Little Lady!!

  4. Sue C. says:

    Oh boy, Ny!!!! What a great post!! It is really good to hear from you!! You are doing splendidly!! So happy to hear you love your new place. It sounds really nice! I’ll be looking forward to hearing you don’t have to wear your backpack any more!

    Thanks again for writing!! I look forward to hearing from you again!!
    Sue

  5. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the post. The pictures are always really cute. Nyana, you are sure growing up and getting stronger. Keep it up!

  6. Juju Bigdog says:

    Boy, Ny, you sure know how to end a blog entry with a bang, don’t you!! Thanks for the update. Keep on shoveling in that chow.

  7. Mary Ward says:

    Nyana, you are such a big girl! I am so happy that you get to eat some yummy stuff now.

  8. Lee says:

    Thanks for the update Ny. You are one clever little cookie. Right, don’t get you started on the cookies. I am glad everything is going so splendidly for all of you and if you could fool mom and dad more often, I know all of us would love to hear from you soon.

  9. Love your blogging, Ny!! You are very informative and very talented, too.

    Bye Bye 🙂

  10. Anne Brackett says:

    Nyana I really enjoyed reading as to what is happening in your life. I am glad you like your new home and the furry floors. You look so grown up in all the pictures. It will be a day of celebration when you get rid of the back pack. You are very talented. Love you little one.

  11. It just put a smile on my face to read all your new adventures, Nyana. Enjoy all that food!

  12. Duncan & Dorothy Gillies says:

    Hi Nyana – thanks so much for updating us on your new home and the wonderful progress you are making. Good idea to get rid of that back pack soon, as you will need a different one with pencils and crayons when you start school.
    We sure enjoyed hearing about your life through your eyes, very descriptive – perhaps you will be a writer one day.
    Say Hi to Mom and Dad when they wake up – just let them think we all decided to send a note and we wont mention using the lap top!!

    Love Duncan & Dorothy

Leave a Reply

