Ticket To Ride

So I’m off sick again. I came down with something over the weekend and didn’t go in to the NICU on Sunday. I was unfortunately well enough to go into work this morning – especially since it’s the most insanely busy week of work of the year – but again tonight, just not well enough to risk it. Too sneezy, too snuffly, and crap does it suck. Karen took the stroller in today to get fitted with new reinforced areas to hold Nyana’s gear, and for the first time Nyana got to test drive her sweet ride. Since I wasn’t there too see it myself, and since I wasn’t there tonight to tell her how awesome she did with it (I hear she did quite awesome), I had to satisfy myself with just flipping through the pics of the last couple days. Here are my favourites.

Nyana finally sits in the "escape pod" portion of her sweet ride.

Getting comfy with sitting in her own chair. Call me overprotective, but black safety harnesses really look good on her, don't you think?

This perspective is way too long a time coming. And it's so freaking exciting.

What's up, it's bedtime, yo. Grrrowl.

Apparently Karen gets this look a lot.

Nurse Awesome and Nyana have some funtimes.

…and, in an interesting scientific fun fact kind of way, here is an x-ray comparison. The one on the right was taken on Oct. 26, when Nyana was a month old and her BPD was just setting in. The one on the left was taken this past Saturday, Apr. 9.

Comparison of Nyana's lungs, almost six months apart.

You can see on the left side how the white wispy cobwebs are less than on the right side. This is good – that white wispy stuff is her BPD. She is getting better, we can see that, however slowly it may be.

This might also be a good time to see how many people are paying attention to what we really write, after being hypnotized into a soft lull with pictures alone. There are folks who would get distracted with the pictures above and not go all the way down to the bottom of the page to read all these boring words. And those folks would miss out on this – we have a bit of news. For those of you still paying attention, and for those who scrolled down this far…wait for it….we have a release date. I can’t jinx anything by telling you what date it is, but I can say it’s true and it’s “soon”. We don’t want to say too much and get excited too quickly, but yes. We have a date, folks. A final goal. Take a breath, relax, and re-read that last bit. You did not mistake yourself. There will be a day very soon when you will see Nyana at home. There’s still some work to be done, and many pieces of the puzzle must still fall into place to make it happen on time, but yes – the light at the end of the tunnel got very bright today. Babygirl’s coming home.

About Donners

Thirtysomething father to The Royal Princess of The Sunshine Brigade, a 27 week preemie who survived 222 days in the NICU. The Queen and I are still crazy in love, and life in Vancouver's West End is getting back to a whole new normal that we've always been waiting for but never knew we would get quite like this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Ticket To Ride

  1. Martina says:

    Well, I went down all the way to the bottom of the page and I’m very happy that Nyana will be home soon! Great news 🙂

  2. I am very thorough and read the entire post. I am so happy you have an end a true end in sight. And even if it isn’t that exact day it is just amazing to be at a point where coming home is on the schedule. I have never experienced that. When Melany came home we knew she was doing well enough it would be close but they literally sprung in on me during rounds that morning.
    Our girls are so close in age and size… my 27wkr is almost 9mo now and maybe 12lbs. NICU graduates totally ROCK.
    P.S. Nyanna looks awesome in her sweet ride! It shows how big she really is getting :o)

  3. Anne Brackett says:

    Really amazing.Nyana looks very comfortable in her seat. Awesome

  4. LeeAnne says:

    Awesome news to finally seeing a date in the near future!

  5. Kaili says:

    So very happy to hear you have a release date in mind- looks like “around Easter” was probably a pretty good guess! Her x-rays- what a huge improvement! Looking forward to seeing those pictures of you guys pushing her around on the outside, down by the seawall! You do plan to continue this blog once she has been broken out of there? So exciting! Yay!!!

  6. Kaili says:

    ha- also, just noticed the new picture up top! That expression- too funny! “What are they doing to me now?!” Love it 🙂

  7. SarahD says:

    Oh! I re-read it about 5 times! I’m so happy to hear the good news!

  8. Holly says:

    Excellent news, Don. I am so happy for you all. Ny looks terrific in her trucked-up ride too. Very, very exciting time for you all.

  9. Chantal says:

    It’s like critiquing a movie – 2 big thumbs up to the wheels, the escape pod and the release date! I give you a 5 out of 5! 😀

  10. T says:

    YAY! Awesome news!!!!!

    I saw “Ticket To Ride” in my email and my first thought was maybe you guys had a release date, then it was all about the Stroller & I was like awww shucks. But being able to be pushed in a stroller is awesome for her and exciting for her mum & dad. Then to find out you have a date. AWESOME!

    Thanks for sharing the before/current xrays. My mom had COPD so I’m very familiar with lung xrays and it’s great to actually see Nyana’s improvement.

    Keep up the good work Nyana!

  11. I read all the way to the bottom!!! 🙂

  12. mike says:

    Yep…its pretty sweet to read all that.

  13. Tasha says:

    SO frigging exciting! I can’t wait to see pics (and read words!) with her at home.

  14. Julie says:

    Congrats on the release date! But I am confused on the xray, you say “right” twice–which one is the 1 month shot and which is the current shot? Thanks!! And go nyana!!!

  15. Jenn says:

    Yay! So happy to hear the good news …. can’t wait for the big day!

  16. Max's Mum says:

    Nyana, we’re so excited for you!! Max loves your escape pod – he has the same one!

    Congrats on the release date. There may have been a few tears over here – I can only imagine what you must be feeling! Here’s to an uneventful last leg of your journey. 🙂

  17. Lee says:

    I’m so happy for the three of you. This will be the best Easter bunny gift of all time.

  18. Sue Curtice says:

    What exciting news! The light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter and brighter! Yay!

  19. Lynn Duncan says:

    YAY!! Not for you being sick, of course, but for a great blog entry. For once, I had to read and read like Julie and indeed you did say right for the newer one too but I’m going with the first right being correct because that is obviously the one with more junk in the lungs and the older one!! Yess!

    Love all the new pics and just how jaunty Nyana looks with her super coach and what your view will soon be.

    Also love that as I was scrolling on my laptop (past pics of “Baby Awesome” and “Mom Awesome”, as soon as I saw her smile, I KNEW that was “Nurse Awesome”. You should let her know that she is recognizable all the way from Southern California (and I’m sure even in more distant climes).

    And *snort* of course I scrolled all the way and read every word! That is such great news!!!

    Seawall here we all come, even if just in pictures! But I’m going to a walk overlooking the ocean in a few weeks and I’ll privately give some thanks for Nyana’s sea access at that venue.

    I’ll be down to the coast probably three days this week too. Anyway we have those pics to look forward to.

  20. robyn says:

    LOVE the pictures, especially nyana’s beautiful un-masked face. and OMFG release date 🙂 words cant express how excited i am to read that

  21. Cyn Tyler says:

    I am so incredibly happy for all of you. Such amazing news. First, the stroller! How exciting for you guys, and how great for Nyana to get to experience something so new and different. Then, the x-rays! Thank you for showing them to us, so we can better understand the progress she is making. And a release date! The icing on the cake. There are so many wonderful experiences waiting for your beautiful family and I can’t wait to hear about them all. Love and prayers.

  22. ShannonB says:

    So exciting!!!!

  23. Diana says:

    Baby brawl! Nyana v. Sunshine & Outside! Who will win?!?!?! (Those of us who get to see pics. We always win.)

    Congrats to the family; what a well deserved milestone for Nyana and you. 🙂

  24. Jackie (jmm) says:

    The pictures are wonderful as always and by the way, Nurse Awesome is recognized as far south as Texas. LOL I can see Nyana on that seawall already, before you know it she’ll be chasing the gulls. I’m so happy that you’ve finally got a release date, that makes it seem so much more real somehow.

  25. Stacey & Lucy says:

    Whooohooo Go SSNY Go!! Love Lucy!!

  26. Linda says:

    Nothing could have started my day better than this blog…such wonderful news made only better by the incredible pictures of one amazing Ladybug. Hugs and love to the three of you!!
    Mum/Grannie

  27. Stacey Feehan says:

    Brought tears to this mum’s eyes. She looks so good and I’m happy the escape pod will be launched ‘soon’. 🙂 I’m just going to bawl when I see the picture of you at home.

  28. Janice Taylor says:

    She looks so great! Huge congrats on the release date. We will have to have a stroller convoy on the seawall soon – Ben has yet to see the one in Stanley Park – he has only been to the False Creek one, but for Nyana he will make the trip! And her stroller pics look great too!

  29. OMG!!!!!!!!!!
    I totally missed my blog reading the past couple days and I can’t believe how exciting this news is!

    That day will be an amazing day.
    Can’t wait.

  30. Biscottiii says:

    Wow! Crying some happy tears and dancing a gig! Finally to see a light at the end of the tunnel and precious Baby Girl is getting ready to jump out of the joint!

    Congrats!

Leave a comment