She’s Nine Months Old, Now.

Nyana is excited about Canada Day next weekend!

You guys wanted more pics of Mum? Here you go!

Every time Karen and Nyana match, Karen exclaims, "Oh my, I didn't even notice!" Yeah, uh huh. Sure. Gorgeous.

Every time I see this picture, R.E.M.'s "Stand" runs through my head. Every time. Fun! "Your feet are going to be on the ground. You head is there to move you around!"

Nyana gets outside for a little fresh air.

I love this shot so much. I love the contrast of a clean baby on a dirty park bench, I love the look on her face, I love the lighting, I love it all.

Karen did a whole photoshoot with Ny as she was making a Father's Day gift for me, and this is just one of the gems. It's not picture perfect with her looking straight at the camera like a lot of the others, but in my opinion it's much better. Probably my favourite picture from the whole shoot, it makes me smile every time.

As you can probably guess, singling out just a few of these pictures for the blog was almost impossible. They're all like this, just way too adorable.

The next picture is like one of those Picture Finds puzzles. Can you find everything in the picture? There are 15 items in all. They are: #1) Beatrix Potter mobile, #2) backpack, #3) laundry basket, #4) eyeglasses, #5) cell phone, #6) Hollywood (cat), #7) Nyana’s favourite ball, #8) elephant head, #9) Microsan hand sanitizer pump action dispenser, #10) John Stewart’s book, “Earth (the book)”, #11) pink playmat, #12) Mr. Oxygen, #13) Mr. Bounce (bouncy chair), #14) Mr.Bipap, and finally #15) The Princess herself.

Can you find everything on the list?

Karen and Ny read "I Love You, Stinky Face" together.

Yes, we have learned. Clearing a safe headspace for a tall baby is always a consideration these days.

Nine months ago Karen and I promised each other that we would see ourselves safely to the "I Was A Preemie, Too!" wall. Here we are. You've all seen the amazing job Karen did with the poster, this is what it will look like for other Moms and Dads. Hopefully it can help them find the same comfort that we found from those who came before us.

Karen brings Ny to Dad's work to take him to lunch. Remember what I said earlier about the two of them matching? This was a seperate day entirely! Now you know why I am so skeptical about the coincidence of it all. But when my girls look this pretty together, I'm certainly not going to complain (it's my favourite of all of her outfits right now). I have a ton of love for this picture, and there's no better way spend a lunch hour.

Sometimes a little swinging around can be difficult, so we really enjoy the times when we can.

It's funny - she smiles, you shoot the picture. Until the shutter actually snaps the shot, however, you never know what it will end up looking like.

Mmm...fresh and clean from the bath. And yes, that is a bit of curl on her wet hair.

Loves it.

Big sloppy kisses until next time!

Wow! You made it all the way down to the end! Are you still with me? I know slogging through sooo many pictures must be such an awfully dreary endeavour. Thanks for sticking with me. And now, as your reward, here’s how we wake up a baby that slept in (and let Mum and Dad sleep in) until past nine o’clock on a Saturday morning. Enjoy.

About Donners

Thirtysomething father to The Royal Princess of The Sunshine Brigade, a 27 week preemie who survived 222 days in the NICU. The Queen and I are still crazy in love, and life in Vancouver's West End is getting back to a whole new normal that we've always been waiting for but never knew we would get quite like this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to She’s Nine Months Old, Now.

  1. Jackie (jmm) says:

    Oh yeah, like it is so difficult to look at pictures of the princess. LOL Thank you for sharing them with us.

  2. T says:

    Thank you Don. What a beautiful family you three are.

  3. Tasha says:

    Lovely pic recap of the past few weeks!

  4. Kaili says:

    Great pictures, and so nice to see so many without the gear! Beautiful family 🙂

  5. Margie King/mak1 says:

    There can never be too many pictures of this little sweetheart. She seems to be thriving at home!

  6. Twiggy says:

    She’s so adorable! I noticed she looks right at the camera, too!

  7. Lee says:

    Yeah, it was a real struggle to sit through those pictures. Thanks so much, and it’s nice to see Karen getting equal time. (or some time at least.)

    Keep on matching

    Lee

  8. Linda says:

    They say a picture is worth a thousand words. If that is the case then this blog is worth over a million words with adjectives such as beautiful, gorgeous, awesome, adorable, too cute, etc, attached to each one of those words. And the icing on the cake was the video of Nyana being so gently woken on a lazy, Saturday morning. Thank you Don for this incredible blog…it was a lovely way to end my crazy weekend.

  9. Amanda Cita says:

    What a beauty.

  10. auntieolivia says:

    What a complete dolly she is… enjoy catching up your family.

Leave a comment